a second chance…

So, two years ago after the birth of my first baby I started a blog. I wrote 4 posts and stopped. Why? Well, I’m not sure. I enjoyed writing; I loved reading the comments left and it felt good to simply get my thoughts, reactions and feelings about different things on the page. As an English teacher I encourage my students to write, to ‘journal’, to process and create with words and so I enjoyed being able to do this, especially when I wasn’t working! And yet, I dabbled and gave it up. I have thought hard about why this is so, and have determined that it was not one thing, but a combination that caused this failing…partly, it was just that, a fear of failing; of not being able to sustain my writings and so giving up seemed easier than continuing. Partly, it was the fear that nobody was reading it and partly, it was the fear that I really had nothing interesting to say so it was better to say nothing at all.

Over the past 2 years I have often thought about starting again and the same constant voices stopped me…until now. At home again this year on my second wave of maternity leave (my second son arrived in February) I have once again found the urge to put things down and reflect. I guess too, I have been inspired by some of the other blogs I have been reading and lurking around in, and so felt the urge to ‘dabble’ once again. Maybe no one will read it, maybe I will post for my mum and mother-in-law only (I am confident they will be reading!), maybe I will write once a month or every week here and there. But I have concluded it doesn’t matter.

For me, this is a place where I can talk about my children, my faith, thoughts, emotions and inspirations. It is a place where I can think, create and rationalise what is going on in my world, and it will be a place where I can show what I’m doing in my spare time (or the time I make to be spare!), whether it be reading a book, cooking or finishing my latest ‘craft’ project.

So, if you are reading this, I hope you will continue… and enjoy… a mum’s musings!

This entry was posted in Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a second chance…

  1. Bek says:

    Welcome back to blog land Jo! I haven’t posted on mine in a while, and I agree- it doesn’t matter how often you get to post. But it is nice to do – and have a record of sorts accumulating. Looking forward to reading more.

  2. Jo Perry says:

    Hi Jo, I was lurking here. 😛

  3. Ann Keast says:

    Always good to read your musings Jo!! xx

  4. Eleanor says:

    Good idea 🙂 I love blogging, it really is a great way of expressing yourself.
    One of my lecturers at uni said that if you claim to love to write and say that you’re a writer, but never actually take the time to write, then you’re just someone who talks about writing. (:

  5. benough says:

    Less sewing, more Desperate Housewives.

Leave a Reply

